Skip to main content




A. Introduction

The Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences of the University of Ilorin formally came into existence following the approval of the Senate of the University of Ilorin at its 205th Meeting of 2nd December, 2009. The Faculty had as its immediate priority/mandate, the establishment and running of a five year undergraduate degree programme that would lead to the award of Bachelor of Pharmacy to deserving students. Other mandates include the institution and mounting of postgraduate and non-degree professional courses. It started with five departments, namely:

  • Department of Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacy Department
  • Department of  Pharmacognosy and Drug Development
  • Department of Pharmaceutics and Industrial Pharmacy
  • Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology
  • Department of Pharmaceutical and Medicinal Chemistry
  • Department of Pharmaceutical Microbiology and Biotechnology was carved out of the Department of Pharmaceutics and Industrial Pharmacy in 2014.

Presently, there are a total of six academic departments in the Faculty.

At its inception, the Faculty took over the physical facilities of the then Works and Estate Department of the University. A building complex comprising of 250 seats lecture theatre, six lecture rooms and four laboratories with attached toilet facilities was added to the existing structure in 2013. To enhance the quality of service delivery, construction of additional facilities was commenced in 2014.

The first phase of the administrative building housing the Dean’s office and three departments, and a new laboratory structure housing four laboratories had since been completed and now in use. The construction of the second phase of the administrative building as well as the Model Pharmacy is in the pipeline.

In the course of its existence and in the drive to improve the quality of its outputs, the Faculty has been able to establish collaborations and liaisons with several stakeholders within and outside the University such as The Central Laboratory, the University of Ilorin Teaching Hospital and pharmaceutical companies and organizations (National Association of Industrial Pharmacists, Kwara State Chapter and Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria, Kwara Chapter) to mention a few.

In 2016 the National Universities Commission (NUC) and the Pharmacists Council of Nigeria (PCN) approved the establishment of the six (6) year Doctor of Pharmacy programme in Nigerian universities. Thus, the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences University of Ilorin will from the 2017/2018 academic session convert the B.Pharm degree programme to the Pharm.D.


B. Philosophy of the Programme

The philosophy of the Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D) programme of the University of Ilorin is the impartation of knowledge and education to produce graduates that are worthy in character and imbued with requisite scientific, professional and managerial skills. This is geared towards optimal patient outcomes and related healthcare needs of the community. Course delivery is carried out through a mix of lectures, laboratory practical, tutorials, seminars, projects, case studies, assignment, industrial work experience, and directed study. Interactive sessions are often held with students. To ensure completeness, each course is taught by a minimum of two lecturers, except in some specialty areas. Tutorial classes are frequently held at the end of the lectures. Modern teaching tools such as power point projectors, smart interactive boards, public address systems, are frequently utilized in the delivery of lectures. Assignments are often posted and submitted online. Laboratory exercises are designed to put in practice the theoretical concepts that have been taught in the courses and externship/clerkship is conducted in the University of Ilorin Teaching Hospital for two sessions.

Categorically, the ultimate goal of the programme is to be a foremost School of Pharmacy in Nigeria and globally in the training of high caliber and world class pharmacy practitioners and scientists that will help to meet the pharmaceutical and related healthcare needs of the country and world at large.


C. Aim and Objectives

The aim of the programme is to produce pharmacy practitioners and scientists that are able to provide detailed and critical pharmaceutical and related healthcare services to the communities which they will serve which will improve the quality of healthcare and development.

For the realization of the mission of the Bachelor of Pharmacy programme, the Faculty has the following objectives:

  1. To provide an enabling environment in which students can acquire skills for an intellectually, stimulating and satisfying experience of learning and study.
  2. To produce students who are adequately grounded in the art and science of drug safety, manufacture, quality and distribution.
  3. To produce graduates who are capable of independent, analytical thinking and problem-solving with respect to drugs and drug-related problems, patient-care and caregivers, thereby promoting healthcare and optimal use of drugs. .
  4. To produce graduates empowered with leadership and management skills in the various aspect of pharmacy and healthcare settings.
  5. Instill in the students, the dynamic value of the profession, and the ability to use the skills and knowledge acquired to solve health related and other societal problems of the community.
  6. Provide students with adequate knowledge and appropriate skills required for further studies in specialized areas of Pharmacy.

D. Admission Requirements

To be admitted into the Faculty, students must fulfil any of the entry requirements below:

  1. UTME (JAMB). Candidates applying into the first year (100 level) of the B. Pharm programme of the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences of the University of Ilorin are required to have credit passes in five subjects  which must include English Language, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and Biology at the Senior Secondary School Certificate (WASC, NECO or equivalent) at no more than two sittings. They are also required to have obtained the minimum UTME score for admission into the University of Ilorin.
  2. Direct Entry. – Candidates seeking direct entry (200 level) into the programme are required to have
  1. Passed Advanced Level GCE, IJMB or its equivalent in Biology, Chemistry and Physics in one sitting with a minimum of 12 points.
  2. HND (Biochemistry, Biotechnology, Medical Laboratory Science) not less than upper credit level
  3. A first degree in medical, life or chemistry not less than 2nd class upper.
  1. Other forms of Entry - Inter-university transfer from other Schools/Faculty of Pharmacy with a minimum CGPA of 3.0 on a 5 point grading system. Such candidates are required to meet other minimum entry requirements for admission into University of Ilorin.


E.  Duration of the Programme

The duration of the Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D) degree programme is a minimum of six (6) years and maximum of nine (9) years for UTME, and minimum of five (5) years and maximum of eight (8) years for direct entry.


F.  Graduation Requirements

For progression from one study level to another, students are expected to have acquired minimum Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) of 2.40 on a 5.00 point scale of a credit course module system. Students with CGPA lower than 2.40 in a semester are put on probation and expected. Probation in two consecutive semester leads to withdrawal from the programme and such students are advised to transfer to other programmes in the University. Students who obtain CGPA of minimum of 4.50 and above are designated as University scholars and this has attached benefits.

In order to graduate, a student is expected to have passed all professional (core) courses, the University courses and cognitive courses (mostly basic) and have a final CGPA of a minimum of 2.40.